My iPhone 3G hates my Linksys WAG54G V.3

Since getting my lovely new iPhone 3G I’ve only been able to connect to my apartment’s Linksys WAG54G V.3 using 802.11b.  It steadfastly refused to talk in “mixed” or “G-Only” mode when WPA-PSK encryption was turned on.

A little snooping behind the scenes, using the Organizer in Xcode to read the iPhone’s log, revealed that the poor little fella was having a problem with a “timeout waiting for authentication response” when connecting to the wireless LAN.

A little Googling and reading of anguished forum posts lead me to the solution.  I just needed to upgrade the Firmware on the Linksys to v1.00.46.

Now my iPhone can enjoy the benefits of 802.11G.  Success!

Perhaps this firmware upgrade will also fix my ADSL2+ signal strength issue too.  Time to test…

6 thoughts on “My iPhone 3G hates my Linksys WAG54G V.3

    • You can download new firmware from the Linksys website. Make sure you download the correct firmware for your device and country. The Linksys device has a web based administration interface. Just enter the IP of the Linksys device (probably 192.168.1.1) into your browser and log in. There is a page within that interface for uploading the new firmware. If you’re not comfortable doing this yourself then find a friendly local computer geek to help you out.

Leave a Reply

