Starship Troopers

I finished reading Starship Troopers today. It is a good, fast read. Nothing like the movie either. Which is good, as the movie was shit. Not that I remember much of the movie. And I can’t believe I’ve actually seen the sequel too, which is utter pig swill.

I’m not sure I agree with much of the pontificating people have done about this book. The book actually doesn’t spend all that much time painting a picture of the world the characters live in. It seemed to me to be much more about the main characters journey from goalless teenager to professional soldier.

The only reason it was put in the future was probably because Heinlein was a Sci-Fi author and wanted to make the point that individuals who voluntarily place themselves in harms way for selfless reasons and the good of their community (in this case a Terran Federation) deserve much respect and honor.

When the book was written (1959) I don’t think there were many examples of all volunteer professional armies around the world. The books is also apparently heavily influenced by the fact that Heinlein himself was a graduate of the United States Naval Academy.

Anyway, the books is worth a read if you like either Military or Science Fiction.

I’m now reading Enders Game by Orson Scott Card. This is the first time in a long while that I’ve actually been reading fiction. I’m really enjoying it.

Leave a Reply

